Sunday Morning Waffles

For most people a waffle is a basic breakfast food that can be easily made at home or ordered at any morning cafe. Sunday mornings as a kid, for me included the breakfast staple and I loved every bite. Fast forward a few years and waffles, for me, became a bit more difficult. In my late 20s I discovered that I would need to start eating gluten-free or remain sick everyday of my life. It was an easy decision to make, but the road to full recovery and lifestyle change took some time. Gluten free baking can be difficult and waffles were no exception. I ran into many waffle recipes that produced soggy, hard as a rock, or just plain bad tasting waffles.

It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I discovered the best Gluten Free Belgian Waffle recipe. It was light, crispy, and sweet. Perfect. Even if you don’t need to eat gluten-free this is a great recipe that offers an alternative to wheat flour. I’ve made the waffles a few times now and have added a few changes of my own to make them even better.

1/2 cup brown rice flour

1/2 cup sorghum flour

1/2 cup potato starch

1/4 cup tapioca starch

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. xanthan gum

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 cup milk w/dash of white vinegar

1/4 cup canola oil

2 eggs

Mix the dry ingredients (you can sift them if you want to get real fancy).  Add the vinegar to the milk and let sit for a minute. If you prefer you can substitute lemon juice for the white vinegar to sour the milk. This is an important step, so if you’re bothered by adding vinegar, at least use lemon juice. Then add all the wet ingredients to the soured milk. I don’t recommend substituting melted butter for the oil. Using melted butter in waffle recipes doesn’t produce the best possible waffle consistency (trust me, as a midwestern girl, I’ve tried it). Mix the wet ingredients into the dry bowl and whisk together.

As with most GF recipes, the batter will be lumpy. I cook my waffles for about 4 minutes and serve them with whipped cream, berries, apple butter and sometimes a dash of powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

