Gluten Free Pumpkin Bread

It’s over 100 degrees in the valley yet I am still committed to enjoying some of my fall favorites. I can’t wrap myself in a cozy sweater just yet but I certainly am indulging in my favorite comfort foods. A few days ago I made a pumpkin blended iced coffee from a recipe I found on Pinterest. It tasted as good as it looked in the photo that drew me to the recipe. After enjoying my coffee drink I was inspired to attempt baking gluten-free pumpkin bread.

I find quick breads to be one of the easiest things to bake gluten-free, however they can get too dense and dry out quickly if not done correctly. I also have a tendency to under-cook my breads so I use cupcake tins to make it easier. The main trick to successful GF baking involves a balance of flours and starches.  This recipe proved to have the right balance:

3/4 c brown rice flour

1/2 c sorghum

1/2 c tapioca starch

1/4 c potato starch

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp all spice

dash xanthan gum or guar gum

1 stick butter

3/4 c sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 can pumpkin

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pan with decorative liners. I used ones with a cute fall pattern that I purchased at Michael’s
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl
  3. Cream butter and sugar together until fluffy then add eggs, vanilla and pumpkin
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until fully blended
  5. Scoop dough into cupcake pan with an ice cream scoop
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes
  7. Cool on a wire rack

The result is a subtly sweet and savory blend of flavors. The ‘”cupcakes” stayed moist for a couple of days on my counter which is unheard of with most GF baked goods. I also froze a few of them and found that popping them in the microwave for about 15 seconds warms them up perfectly. I’m quite sure this recipe will be used a few more times this fall and will definitely be making an appearance at my Thanksgiving dinner.

One thought on “Gluten Free Pumpkin Bread

Leave a Reply

